Animating

The deadline is fast approaching and we haven’t started to animate yet as we are still waiting on the rigs to be complete. We don’t need the rigs for the opening shot so I said i would set up the camera for it with the dummy characters in the scene. Originally we were going to use this camera movement showing the room before moving onto the vending machines but Mike suggested it was pointless and that is should just start with the vending machines.

Glen had the idea of having the title on the digital display of the vending machine, I think this worked out really nicely as the focus is clear from the beginning and it’s an innovative way to show our title, Glen and David animated the eyes for this shot. Here’s the playblast;

 

I composed and created this over the shoulder shot shot showing the audience what the main vending machine was looking at, its shows the girls looking at one another to indicate (as awkward as this sounds) they like what they see. Originally I wanted to use the rig to give more movement to the girls however due to issues cause by my key framing the life out of everything i was unable to animate the daces and use the rig.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.53.01

I like this scene it’s quite funny, physics doesn’t really apply the the leaning vending machines here but I think it adds to the humour. I tried to keep in mind that how facial expressions would be affect as the yellow machine bumps the red, I shut his eyes and altered his smiling mouth slightly as a reaction to using his face to push the red vending machine. I animated the blue vending machine to be finding his balance however I let him rest on the pivots for too long and it doesn’t look smooth.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.53.34Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.55.25

The camera switches to this view for a closeup of our protagonist.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.53.55

This scene was fun to make as I got to play with all of their mouth shapes and where their eyes followed, i’m not sure where I’ve left this file so I don’t have a playblast to show. I animated the purples vending machines’ eyes to look the boys up and down in a sassy manner, the pink vending machine blinks seductively and the green girls eye lids lift as she stares over. I created a heart on maya, duplicated it and imported them into the scene, then I animated the hearts to come towards the camera as if radiating from the pink vending machine to draw the attention to her, it also clarifies the attraction between the cola and mintoes machines.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.54.23Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 00.54.38

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 01.13.23Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 01.13.41Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 01.13.59

Leave a Reply

